Mother’s Day

I thought Sunday was going to be an absolute miserable day.  It is the first time in my life that I missed being home with my mom, grandmother, and aunts for Mother’s Day.  It didn’t help matters much that, even though it was Saturday for most of the day at home, they were all getting together to celebrate with a little BBQ.  Tradition, to say the least, but I wasn’t there.  And my brother wasn’t there.  Which I think actually made it slightly easier for me to accept that I couldn’t be with the women who helped raise me and guide me to become the person I am today, but it was still a depressing thought to me.  Why is it such a big deal to me?  To honestly answer would take days, weeks, possibly even years.  But I’ll attempt to go with the Reader’s Digest version.

To anyone that knows me, you will know that I am extremely close to my mom.  Some might even say a bit too close for what is healthy.  It is true that my mom is my best friend.  But she is also my mom and that distinction has always been there.  She is the most important person in my life and I can’t see that changing anytime soon, if ever.  She is the most remarkable person I have ever met, and I don’t care what anyone else says: she can do anything.  I know you may be reading this right now, Mom, and if I were there beside you, you know I would ask you if you were crying.  I am sorry if I made you reach for a box of tissues.  I don’t tell you enough how grateful I am to have you as a mother.  You really are the best and I hope you had an amazing day. 

It seems insane to get involved with the hype of anther card holiday.  There’s so many of them now.  For whatever reason, society has shifted into thinking cards and gifts should be given out just about every day of the year for some obscure holiday.  While it is nice to receive the things, it has past a point where we forget about the real meaning of these things.  Mother’s Day and Father’s Day are two events, however, that I think are a good thing.  We lose focus on what is important in life and family is right at the top.  At least in my book.  It reminds us to show our parents how much we are thankful for them.  But there should be more for it.  One day a year to thank your mom and dad and/or respective relatives or friends who are as good as?  These people raised us, cared for us at our worst times, attempted to make us the best people we can be.  Mine most certainly did that and more and I don’t show nearly enough appreciation for it.  Can I ever really thank them enough?  I’ve actually had this conversation with my mom before and her response is to go off in the world to be the person she taught me to be.  To make her proud.  That’s all she needs.  And while I want to do that, isn’t that what a parent is supposed to say?  They aren’t going to ask their kids for some kind of return on you, as if you were merely created for investment purposes.  I don’t think my parents would.  But then what can you do?  I certainly feel a sense in which I would like to pay them back for everything they have ever done for me, but is it possible? 

Probably almost seven years ago now, a study was done saying it would cost one million dollars to raise a child until they went off to college.  To college!  One million dollars.  That’s a lot of money.  And while it is possible to make that sort of money, can you really put a price tag on raising a child?  Or what to “pay back” if that were the case?  Money is one thing, but the time and energy spent is a whole other story as well.  My dad always liked to instill in us that “time is money.”  Well if time is money, my parents surely spent another few million dollars at the least on me and my brother.  But that’s all just one part of why spending that one day where the entire world focuses on spending time with your mother is important to me. 

In a previous post, I already explained to you how anyone would be lucky to have a godmother such as mine, so I won’t go on again about how awesome she is, but I just felt it necessary to mention her in here. 

My other aunt, and my confirmation sponsor – so in my opinion (and I’m certain I share this opinion with others as well) my other godmother, is also a big part of my life.  As much as I love my mom and wouldn’t trade her for the world, there are some things that we are simply so different about that it is hard to believe we are related sometimes.  This is where this aunt comes in.  We are very much alike – or at least I see the similarities and don’t realize the differences just yet – that it scares me.  I would sometimes ask my mom if she was sure I was hers and not my aunts.  She is another person who people would be lucky to have in their lives. 

Perhaps I am spoiled in regards to the motherly women in my life.  Maybe it is not as big of a deal to other people because they do not have the bonds and feeling about their mothers in the same respect that I do.  But that is why it is so important to me.  I know that they will always be there for me, regardless of where I am or what I am doing.  I love you guys and I am sorry I could not be with you to celebrate this year.  Many hugs and kisses and a huge thank you to all those mother’s out there.

Leave a Reply

