WOW, [insert name here], this is the best lasagna ever!

This week has proven to drag on by.  Not that I should really be complaining, I suppose.  I truly love it here.  I miss home and people and the comfort of controlling the temperature in my room, but otherwise, I am in paradise.  And I have new people and created somewhat of a home here, which is nice, but it’s still not the same as home.  It’s funny how that works, right?  And as much as I do love home, I would never want to actually live there permanently anymore.  New York will always be the place I want to go back to, but never to actually live in.  At least not for now.  Florida isn’t a place I really want to go back to either, but I have a consortium of humans that make it enough of a home to make it bearable for the next few years.  I don’t know what my obsession with home has been this past week, but it’s been there.  Maybe it’s because most people went back home now that classes for the spring semester are over.  There’s still three weeks to go of classes here in New Zealand, which I thought would be going by a lot quicker, but again, not so much. 

As the week has been drawn out, a lot of things have happened!  There was feeling sickly last Tuesday, scuba diving on Wednesday, SEEING A PENGUIN JUST CHILLIN ON SOME ROCKS!!!!!!!!!!!! (insert extreme happiness here in case you couldn’t already tell!!!!  YES, A REAL, LIVE PENGUIN!!!!! 😀   SWEET AS!), I’m sure something interesting happened on Thursday, a horror movie night (yes, I actually watched a horror movie!!  Several, actually…  If you still count that third one that I mostly slept through…) on Friday, the 13th with “the most amazing lasagna ever” made by a friend.  The weekend consisted of epic bummingness and some work getting done – like my lab report that I forced myself to sit down and do for 10 hours.  No, I did not spend a full ten hours on my lab report.  I probably spent 5 hours complaining about how obnoxious the report was, one hour seriously working on the report, and four hours “multi-tasking” on the report while catching up with a friend form high school who I haven’t even really spoken to since the middle of senior year.  So essentially three and a half years of catching up and writing a lab report…  Yes.  🙂 

This week sleep has completely abandoned me.  A lot of last week too, but I care more this week for some reason.  For whatever reason, I can’t fall asleep.  It is terrible.  Part of why I can’t fall asleep is due to anxiety.  What am I anxious about?  I could give you heaps of things.  But that may take forever and I am not willing to share just that much about my innermost thoughts and all that jazz.  At least not at this moment!  Hehehe (but seriously, I wouldn’t hold my breath)!   OH!!  And gelato!  The weekend was also spent getting gelato! 🙂  Which really makes me miss Italy.  But that’s a whole different post.  Monday night/Tuesday morning for those of us in New Zealand, was the shuttle launch of Endeavour.  So of course, I had to stay up and watch that.  And then of course, I couldn’t fall asleep after that because, well, putting it this way, going into space is pretty much the ONLY thing I really want to do with my life.  I mean, sure there are other things I want to do, but I would give anything to actually go to space.  So obviously I couldn’t just fall asleep after seeing people doing the thing I want to do with my life. 

Last night, I don’t even know what the deal was.  I got home after fire club feeling exhausted.  Told myself I would sleep well, as I was EXHAUSTED from getting up for a lab at the crack of dawn earlier that day after not sleeping much the night before.  Props if you followed that without rereading it!  But no such luck.  In fact, I finally managed to fall asleep a little after 4AM.  And yeah, you guessed it, I had an early class again this morning.  If the world was really cruel (which I am starting to think it is), I will be able to fall asleep as soon as my head hits the pillow tonight.  Why?  Because I don’t have to be up until 12 tomorrow.  Sigh.  How twisted is that?  And my neck has been killing me!  For no reason!  OK, maybe it’s for aforementioned unmentionable reasons, but still.  Normally anxiety does not affect my physical well-being, just my mental one.  Which I am certain has been destroyed a while ago, so yeah. 

On a more exciting note (and yes, this is contributing to my anxiety as well), I BOOKED MY TRIP TO THE SOUTH ISLAND!! 🙂  I am stoked!  It will be great!  And it’s in less than three weeks! 🙂  O for awesome!  So yes, that is exciting if you couldn’t gather that already.  And hopefully it won’t be absolutely freezing, but even if it is, that’s alright – I can go skiing!  Yes, SKIING! IN JUNE!!!!!  😀  Loving this hemisphere thing, even if it just sounds soooo wrong!  It has been horrible weather here lately, though.  Sunday and Monday night I was rudely awakened (after finally managing to fall asleep) by wind and rain slamming into my window which I was certain would break.  I mean, me.  Being awakened by wind?  Really?  If you’ve ever slept in the general vicinity of me, you know I do not wake up for anything!  We went camping once and were sleeping in tents – TENTS – and apparently the WORLD was ending with the rain and thunder and lightning and people shrieking (in the same tent as me supposedly) from the elements existing and I peacefully continued to sleep.  If they didn’t tell me about it the following morning, I wouldn’t have even guessed it had rained, let alone apocalypsed from the way people made it sound.  But yes, so more obnoxiousness from the sleeping side. 

Hmmm…  I am feeling extremely ADD lately.  I have a friend from high school who we used to (well, still do) call Princess Plus.  The reason?  We were sitting in a diner one memorable day (this is where we coined the term ‘diner moments’ as well, if you were interested) and one of our friends asked the first friend I mentioned if she had ADD.  Her reply?  “I don’t have ADD!  I can drive just fine!”  The perfect ADD response.  We love her regardless.  But on another occasion she referred to ADD as add…  as in, she was too lazy to actually say the three letters – hence the plus part of Princess Plus.  The princess part?  You just have to know her.  Well, you probably don’t, but I know she sometimes read this, so we’ll stick with you have to meet her.  🙂  Love you, Princess Plus!  But the reason I bring it up is because I’m feeling all ADD and I am amused by our nicknaming abilities. 

Music.  I recently acquired more music from friends here and there.  And so I have been listening to music non stop lately.  It’s pretty good stuff.  But I am amazed at how much stuff I still don’t have and know I love and KNOW that I don’t have it and still want it.  You know what that’s like?  It’s horrible! 

Castle!  If you watch Castle (the TV show), you will be comforted to know, I too share your pain in wanting the fourth season to air ASAP!  Not a cool ending for the third season – they are trying to pull a Lost thing or something, I guess.  Sigh.  I have also become addicted to Glee lately.  I’m still catching up and only on the first season at the moment, but that will probably change soon.  As long as the internet doesn’t plan on capping!  I hate when that happens – reminds me too much of back when we had dial-up.  Not that I really needed the internet too much then, especially not to watch seasons of shows such as Castle and Glee, but yes. 

Anywho, I think I have rambled enough for now and quite certain I have scared at least one person who started reading this to bail, so I will leave you with a goodnight.  Also, look out for my next post on the 21st.  Yes, I will be posting on the 21st and the only reason I know this for sure is because the date has significance for me for several reasons and I have been writing the bits and pieces I have wanted to share for quite some time.  So, until then… 

TTFN!

Leave a Reply

