Seat backs must be in the full upright position…

Humans!  I totally love my job.  It is freaking awesome.  I have the most amazing life.  I really do.  I mean.  I have been to an airport everyday over the past five days.  Four of those days, I was flying somewhere!  Alright.  The day that got sandwiched in between the flights was kind of boring as I felt like I was sitting at the DMV all day, but man!  It really didn’t bother me all that much.  Why?  BECAUSE I LOVE MY JOB! 

So let’s backtrack a bit.  New York was great last weekend, as always.  It was also one of my friend’s birthdays, so I was happy I got a chance to have brunch with her and a few others before leaving.  Saw some of the family, enjoyed the cooler weather up there, and then headed back to good old Texas.  I have to admit, Houston is growing on me.  It’s no New York, but I definitely didn’t give it the credit I should have before I arrived.  That’s not to say that I don’t think the stereotypes of Texas don’t exist, now!  I just think where I am located is more of the corporate America on a higher scale of awesomeness.  The buildings are still taking me some time to get used to, but it’s still pretty neat.  Not that I’ve really had a chance to explore explore, though! 

Work has kept me busy!  So I got back from the airport on Monday afternoonish.  I, of course, had JUST missed the bus into Downtown, so I waited.  And waited.  Almost an hour to be exact.  Then, the bus finally gets there.  Awesome.  Except for the fact that even though all the signs show the buses appearing in one place, it’s really around the corner.  Whatever.  I managed to see the bus and chase after it to where it actually does stop.  So I go to get on said bus and I have my twenty dollar bill.  Well, nooooooo!!!   The bus drivers don’t carry change for ANYTHING.  It’s exact change only.  You’re more than welcome to put in larger bills, but don’t expect change.  Well, I wasn’t going to give up the change for a ride that is only $1.50.  So I ask people on the bus.  Blank stares.  Blank, annoyed stares to be exact.  Whatever.  Thanks for posting SOMEWHERE that you need exact change to board.  I only was sitting here for the last fifty minutes with nothing to do, but no big deal.  I’ll just wait another forty minutes for the next one.  So that was my fill of the airport for Monday. 

Tuesday I went to work and then joined my boss and another department head to San Francisco!  Whoo!!!!  First time to California (if you don’t count the layovers)!  So good times.  My boss is a President’s Club member to boot, so that was a new experience!  Good times.  🙂  We got to San Fran pretty late – 9PM local time, but 11 Houston time.  But we were hungry!  At the hotel was a place to eat, though, so we chatted and ate for a few hours before hitting the hay – not to mention catching the Yankees game!  🙂  Wednesday was fun and exciting.  We went to the United building to work on the merging-ness.  I worked with another engineer on my projects and then after we got most of that squared away, we got to go see the planes!  Since United has Airbus planes, I got to go in some of them too!  It was pretty awesome.  The A320 we went in was pretty much the standard plane you would go in, but the cockpit is pretty cool to have a look around!  The visit was also the first time I had ever been in a 777.  Pretty sweet.  Now they just need to deliver the Dreamliner so I can properly explore that!  And the A380 of course, but I am getting ahead of things…

We flew back Wednesday evening, getting back late again.  Luckily, I was able to sleep a little bit!  I as somewhat disappointed in the fact that I saw NONE of San Francisco save for the airport, but alas, I will just have to fly out there for a weekend!  🙂  Hopefully one that involves an air show around the same time.  Yeah, life is awesome.  😀  Yesterday was the “DMV” day.  One of my co-workers and I needed to get airport badges, so we had to head out there, fill out some paperwork, watch a video about our new responsibilities, etc, and get it all processed.  A simple thing that is a four hour process.  But at least there was a TV there!  Better than nothing.  After work, we went meandering around Houston.  I picked up some dive books for the Advanced Open Water class I will take hopefully sometime in the near future and then walked around exploring the area not far from where I’m living.  It’s pretty nice, actually.  Again, it’s growing on me.  Not to mention that there is a cemetery within walking distance from the house!  SO EXCITING!  Yup, there’s that morbid interest in death again, but what can you say? 

Then of course, the guy who’s renting out the house came over to show us how to set the alarm.  Well, of course, I managed to set it off twice within an hour’s timeframe.  The first time was possibly my fault due to some other distractions and things going on in my mind when I opened the door outside so I could actually talk on the phone because, you know, why should houses have service inside of them.  The other time I’m blaming completely on the renter person.  Why?  Because the genius knew I was outside and set the alarm anyway, so when I went INSIDE the house, it went off.  Grrr…  WHY WOULD YOU SET AN ALARM WHEN YOU KNOW SOMEONE IS OUTSIDE?!  But yeah.  This is what happens when you’ve never lived in a place with an alarm.  Not going to lose sleep over the fact. 

Today was a fun day at work too.  I got there before the sun – literally!  I was in at 6AM!  But I also left at 1PM so I could catch the bus to get to the airport so I could get the 4PM flight back home.  Good times.  Work was cool too, though.  I was introduced to Boeing people and managed to get free stuff – aka, a lanyard and cool yo-yo swivel thing so I don’t have to unclip my badge every time I want to access a door, so good stuff!  Also learned how to write some documents and all that fun stuff, while working on my door project.  The awesomest part of today so far, however, was that I found out that I would be going to Orlando next week to work on innovative projects with another one of the engineers.  Well, she’s already there, but I’ll be meeting her out there.  SO EXCITING!!  Definitely stoked for that.  I had no idea what I was going to be doing, but then it was explained what project was being worked on over there and, WHOO!!  Sounds awesome!  First time it’s ever being done.  And I get to help out with it!  SO FREAKING COOL!!  I’m telling you.  I love it!  And it’s only day six of work!!!  Later on down the road when I actually know more about what people are talking about?!?  SO EXCITED!  😀

Yup.  So this weekend, I’m heading home again.  Excited for the few days and the food as always.  Then it will probably be off to Orlando for new projects and awesome stuff.  Can’t wait!  So for you out there who question the idea of an internship?  DO IT.  JUST DO IT.  And even if you absolutely hate it, then you know that’s not what you want to do.  But methinks it’s impossible to completely hate everything!

 

Leave a Reply

