Horse and Carriage

Gay marriage.  Everyone is up in arms about the right for gay people to be legally married.  I was raised in a Catholic school and taught that marriage is a sacrament between husband, wife, and God.  And that is what I believe.  I mean no disrespect to gay couples.  I believe everyone deserves every equality in the right to be with the person they love, make life decisions if the other person is incapable, and other such rights.  I find that regardless of if you love a man or a woman, regardless of your own sex, you should have this right.  I just don’t think it should be called marriage.  Quite honestly, I don’t believe marriage should be allowed for most couples.  Marriage has turned into a form of dating.  You’re with a person for three, four, maybe even five years, and then you give up.  They are not the “one.”  That’s crap.  Marriage is “’til death do us part.”  Period.  End of story.  If you don’t want to be with that person until you die, you shouldn’t be married.  And that goes for any couple – gay, straight, lesbian, whatever.

I might piss people off for saying this.  People may not agree with me.  That’s fine.  You don’t have to.  I respect your beliefs, but I expect you to respect mine, especially on MY blog.  I believe people – all people, religious and non-religious –  who want to be with the person they love shouldn’t be in what is considered a marriage in today’s standards.  I think they should be in civil unions.  Not the civil union idea that we have now, but something that is a legal interpretation allowing ANY couple to have the rights that a marriage (in what the legality of a marriage has at this time) has.  Some states and countries do have that now, but many do not.  Who cares if a man loves another man and wants to legally make medical decisions for him?  Why does that bother people?  Love is love.  We need more of it in the world.  Why should your sex be a deciding factor in that?  A woman loving another woman doesn’t hurt anyone.

Marriage, however, should be a completely separate thing from this proposed civil union I just described.  Marriage should be between God, you, and your opposite sex partner.  Yes, I am sorry for the discrimination here, but as a Catholic, I do think that marriage is between a man and woman only.  But I also don’t see this idea of marriage as a legal thing, but as a spiritual one.  So, in essence, to have legal rights, you would need to have a civil union, but in God’s eyes (but not necessarily a legal standing), a marriage.  I’m not sure if that makes sense to other people, but it does to me and that’s what I think.  So there you have it.  My opinion on equality.  It becomes difficult when my religion seems to contradict equality.  I think if God was so opposed to people loving members of the same sex, they wouldn’t.  It’s funny because I have had a draft going about love that I’ve been meaning to finish and wanted to post a while ago, but I haven’t found the way to end it yet.  A lot of where I’m going with that last statement will probably be elaborated on in that post, which will hopefully come soon.  I was going to work on that one tonight, but as I was perusing my facebook feed, I couldn’t help but type this out instead.  So to my gay/lesbian friends, family members, or random readers of my blog: I don’t mean to say you shouldn’t be with the ones you love or that you shouldn’t have equal rights as opposite sex couples.  I just don’t think it should be called marriage.  But I don’t think straight couples should be in what is called marriage either.

One response to “Horse and Carriage

Leave a Reply

