Do You Know Who I Am?

Privilege.  People seem to have an arrogant sense of entitlement about themselves.  We all do on certain matters, I will admit, but a select few really seem to get under my skin and boil my blood.  I work in an admissions office for a university: I hear my fair share of applicants asking me “Do you know who I am?”  Quite frankly I don’t give a damn who you are.  If you don’t meet our requirements, you shouldn’t be admitted.  Period, end of story.  We have a set of standards for a reason.  When your GPA is a 2.0/4.0 and the professors writing your letters of recommendation state that they have nothing good to say about you as a student, you shouldn’t feel entitled to an acceptance letter simply because you are a prince of somewhere or another or you’re an athlete.  That’s great that you were born into a royal family or gifted with an athletic talent or whatever else.  Clearly it’s not an academic skill.  You aren’t born with the right to a higher education; you have to earn a degree.  If you had a right to it, when you turned a certain age, congrats!  Here’s a piece of paper.  Go you.  I don’t think so.

Then there’s deadlines.  Of course there are always exceptions for the deadlines: you’re missing one document that you did send before the deadline and it got sent back to you so you shipped it again and it eventually made it to us.  Sure.  That’s fine.  But I love the people that don’t even apply until well after the deadline and then get upset when they don’t have an admission decision the SAME day.  And let’s not forget the people that want every supporting document waived because their great aunt’s friend’s cousin twice removed said they had good grades or a killer work ethic.  Yeah.  They’re my favorite.  And not to pick on international students, but I really love the ones who insist they went to an English speaking school ten years ago and their English is perfect, but they failed the TOEFL (Test of English as a Foreign Language), but they should have it waived anyway because they’re so and so from wherever.  OI VEY.

OK.  I’m done with my rant about that.  But seriously.  If I’m a renowned football player, it’s OK to murder people.  If I’m a high paid actress, it’s fine to drive drunk and do drugs.  If I’m a politician it’s not OK to have an affair, but half the people judging me are involved in their own affairs or hiring prostitutes.  Why do we accept these double standards?  Why do we accept these things for anyone?  We, as a society, encourage this sense of entitlement whenever we allow this kind of behavior.  For everyone.  I saw a post on facebook the other day that said something along the lines of “When I was little, it was never ‘She’s young, it’s OK’‘ it was ‘Do that again and watch what happens.'”  Where did that go?  It shouldn’t matter who is doing what.  If it’s wrong, it’s wrong.

 

 

Leave a Reply

