The Real World

I am graduating in 75 days, 19 hours, 45 minutes and 17 seconds from this moment in time.  I’ve been here for way too long.  I’m ready to turn the page to the next chapter of my life.  I’m excited for this change.  It will be a drastic one, I know, but I am prepared for it.  I’ve been preparing for it and I’m looking forward to the unknown.  As I continue to express this excitement, however, I am getting many comments from the peanut gallery. 

“Enjoy life while you can.”

“You’re so young, don’t wish this away.”

“Once you start working, you don’t get to go back to how things are now.” 

I understand the demands of a job, especially the job I am going into.  I understand that I will not get to make the spur of the moment decisions that I can make right now.   I get that if I don’t show up to work one day, I’m not getting paid and I’m probably going to hear it from my boss.  There’s no questions about this.  But I keep getting told that going out into the real world isn’t as glorious as it seems.  In the back of my head, “Part of Your World” is playing.  People always want what they don’t have, right?  But I don’t see going into the real world as a drawback.  In fact, I see it as a benefit. 

My job isn’t your typical 9-5 job.  But for the majority of people (and ALL of the people who keep telling me to stop wishing my university days away), 9-5, Monday through Friday is your standard work day.  HOW, just HOW, can you possibly say that life does not get easier once you’re done with school?  The “real” world has bills and rent and obligations.  So I’m living in a fake world now?  I pay rent.  I pay bills.  I have obligations. NOW.  I’ve had them. 

Not only do I go to school, but I work over 40 hours per week on top of my classes.  And I do well in my classes.  Yes, my jobs right now are flexible.  Yes, my bosses allow me to miss a day here and skip a few hours there and take time to fnish an assignment, but I’m still working.  When I don’t work, I don’t get paid.  I already deal with this concept now.  Yes, the jobs I hold do not involve rocket science.  But my classes do.  So on top of classes and work, I have a life.  I go diving almost every weekend, I try to travel somewhere else once a month, and I go to Disney.  I attempt to be social and enjoy my life while doing these things. 

So how can you tell me the real world is worse?  In the “real” world, I don’t have homework that I have to pay to do every night.  I think I have a decent basis for gauging life in the “real” world.  When I worked with Continental, I was treated as a full time employee.  Spending time with the people who had worked there for decades, I learned quite a bit about their lifestyles.  They would work mostly from 8-5.  Sometimes there were late nights and early mornings.  Other times there were 18 hour days for 12 days straight. 

And then it would go back to working 8-5.  Fridays people would leave an hour early.  They would go home and have dinner with friends or family or head somewhere fun for the weekend.  There was no consistant homework.  At the end of the work day, you’re done.  School doesn’t work that way.  Not even close.  I leave my house before 9AM every week day.  If I get home before 8PM, it’s a really good day.  That’s my SHORT day.  And that’s standard working and class.  No exciting life moments thrown in there. 

In no way am I complaining when I get home later because I hung out with a friend or grabbed a bite to eat somewhere.  I just would like to point out that when I do get home, I still have homework and studying to do.  Yes, it’s my choice to keep my sanity with some social aspect.  I’m just saying.  In the “real” world, you get home and throw on the TV or fall asleep or whatever else.  Just a thought.  Graduation is now in 75 days, 19 hours, 21 minutes, and 22 seconds. 🙂

Leave a Reply

