Happy February!

I don’t think a month has gone by that I haven’t thought about updating this blog.  It’s been over a year.  Wow!  And on a side note, somewhat shocking, I still have people who visit my blog multiple times a week even though I’ve been pathetic and horrible at updating this thing!  So thank you extremely dedicated readers (or stalkers)!  Most of the writers side of this site has also changed.  So where have I been, might you ask?  Well, since last writing, I’ve gotten a huge promotion, literally driven across the country, on crutches with broken bones and almost forced to be in a wheelchair (had I known that was an option earlier – the extent of my brokenness wasn’t known in the original diagnosis – I definitely would’ve had fun with that!!), and made some great investment decisions.  So yes, I’ve been busy.  From the last I wrote until October (ish), I was technically not allowed to blog.  From then, I’ve been moving yet again, flying home to surprise my parents, and, of course, diving!  Diving is life!  🙂

Anyway, lately I’ve been going through the old stories I’ve written.  I’m surprised by my writings.  Most of them were started in high school, some I started only a year or two ago.  Some of them are downright awful and while the ideas are something I can still work with, I don’t know how I could have possibly thought the actual writing was anything close to being acceptable.  A few of them, though, I think have potential.  And if I could remember the direction I was taking with them or could find the time to write more, they could be awesome.  If I do say so myself.  The last one I’ve been combing over is one that I thought I lost for good.  I wrote it when I was living in Germany and me being me, didn’t remember where I saved it.  Strangely enough, it was one of the ONLY stories I had actually shared with someone and said someone still had it saved and safely returned it to me.  While I don’t know where I want it to go, what I wrote so far definitely brings me back to very specific memories and a place in life where I thought very differently about myself, other people, and life in general.  It’s enlightening to see a younger version of me, if that makes any sense.

While I’m still trying to determine the new direction I want that particular story to head in, I realized how much I do miss writing.  Even if it is about nothing.  So I’m not saying this will be a comprehensive, organized, scheduled thing (I don’t think it ever was…), I am going to attempt sharing my ramblings more.  I feel like I’ve said this before.  Here’s to a great 2015 of blogging, though! =]

Leave a Reply

