The Most Difficult Thing

Technology is becoming smarter than us.  Well, at least me.  It took me 15 minutes of trying to figure out how to add a new post on a different computer than the one I normally use since I don’t have the ‘New Post’ tab bookmarked like I do on my laptop.  Anyway, like I promised, an increased effort in the blogging world.  Whoo!

This past weekend I went to Vegas to visit some family.  Yeah!  Go family!  These cousins have lived on the opposite side of the country for all of my life and so I don’t know them as well as some of the other family I’ve gone to visit, but I’m slowly getting to know them better.  They are also the ones who have graciously and wonderfully opened their arms to my dog, Wess.  I honestly can’t remember if I’ve told you about my little guy, but in October of 2013, this little, pathetic looking, flea covered, starved creature bounded after my car in the rain in the middle of nowhere. 2014100395215831 I had no choice but to allow him into my vehicle, where he quickly jumped over my passenger, onto my lap, and started kissing me.  In the search the weeks after, noone claimed him and he had grown into a cruicial part of my family.  But being in the Navy doesn’t exactly allow for dogs – we’re gone too much and move too much to provide a stable home.  When I was in training, my parents were awesome enough to care for him, but I knew it couldn’t go on.  Thus, the cousins.

Leaving him there the first time was the most heart wrenching, awfulest thing I ever had to do.20150208_112002  It wasn’t that my cousins weren’t good people or that they wouldn’t be great providers for him.  But in the short time that I had him, he was MY fur child.  He was 12 weeks old when I found him.  Leaving him was terrible.  I knew he would be well taken care of, but I didn’t want to leave him.  I felt that I had failed.  But in leaving him with my family, I knew it was the best thing I could have done for him.  A stable, loving home where he has a little girl to play with, a backyard, other dogs.  And he’s with family.  So I can always go to see him (and of course, them).  This, of course, has also brought me closer to these cousins.  While I miss him dearly, I know he’s in good hands.

I don’t know how parents who lose a child in whatever way deal with it.  You hear so many cases of neglect and abuse of people towards their children and pets and I cannot phathom how.  The love I developed for this little guy in less than a few months, let alone as time preogressed, is immeasurable.  Leaving him this time was not as hard as I thought it would be.  Don’t get me wrong, it was still terrible.  But seeing him in his new home, comfortable and with loving people (even if I knew he was safe before), was extremely reassuring.  He’s happy with them.  He has a great life with them.  And he will always have a special place in my heart.

Running around in his new backyard, playing fetch

Running around in his new backyard, playing fetch

Leave a Reply

