Happy Ashes!

There are four days out of the standard 365 that when I wake up I actually am thinking about food.  A good old 1% of the year that I want breakfast the second I wake up.  Those days?  Christmas, Easter, Ash Wednesday. and Good Friday.  It’s crazy how when you can’t have something, that’s all you want.  I easily go 361 days with no desire for food in the first few hours that I am awake, but throw in a day you’re supposed to fast and it’s over.  It’s the same with eating meat on Fridays.  I’m not a big carnivore.  Sure, I’ll go for some chicken or a filet mignon or a burger every now and then, but I’d rather have some cheese ravioli or macaroni and cheese or bread.  BREAD!  Yum.  But Fridays during Lent, all I want is some In-N-Out Burger or tacos or whatever else.

As Lent commences, I’m trying to still figure out what I’m giving up for the next 40 days.  This year in particular will offer its own set of challenges, since I will be deployed for most of this time.  I came across an article about doing Lent “backwards” this year.  Instead of giving something up, do something more: write/call people to let them know you’re thinking of them, help people out, that kind of thing.  Not a bad thing at all and definitely resembling the pay it forward initiative that society has started to embrace.  So perhaps that will be my endeavor.  Trying to do something to make the world a better place.  Challenge accepted.

Leave a Reply

